Amani Johnson became the third straight Kennesaw State player to be named the ASUN Conference Freshman of the Year.

TownNews.com Content Exchange

Kennesaw State women's basketball players Kamiyah Street and Amani Johnson earned top honors from the ASUN Conference on Thursday.

Street was named first-team all-conference, while Johnson was the unanimous selection as Freshman of the Year.

The ASUN's leader in scoring, Street is averaging 17.2 points heading into tonight's conference quarterfinal at Stetson. The sophomore from Atlanta scored in double digits in all but two conference games and scored at least 20 points eight times.

Street also led the ASUN in steals, averaging 3.1 per game, which ranks 15th in the country. She also averaged 4.9 rebounds.

"I am extremely happy for Kamiyah Street to be named to the first team,” Kennesaw State coach Agnus Berenato said in a release. “Kamiyah has put the time in on the court to improve her game, and hard work pays off. This year, the ASUN was super competitive, and Kamiyah demonstrates she could compete with all of the elite athletes."

Johnson became the third straight Kennesaw State player to be named the ASUN's top freshman, following Carlotta Gianolla (2017) and Street (2018). She was the fourth member of the program to earn the award, with Taylor Mills winning it in 2012.

"Amani has amazing skill for a freshman and is willing to work on her game to improve," Berenato said. "Leadership is key when you run the team, and Amani is a natural leader. Named a captain because of her leadership, Amani must excel on and off the court, which she has done"

A native of North Versailles, Pennsylvania, Johnson is averaging 9.6 points per game, which leads all ASUN freshmen, and 4.4 assists, which is second in the ASUN and ninth in the country for a freshman.

Johnson played an average of 37 minutes, 58 seconds per game, which leads the ASUN and is 12th in the country. Johnson ranks 10th in the nation in total minutes played (1,089) and has 12 games of 40-plus minutes.


Former Kennesaw State quarterback Chandler Burks was selected by the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association as its Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Burks and South Dakota State quarterback Taryn Christion -- who faced off with one another in the quarterfinal round of the FCS tournament -- were selected out of a field of seven finalists and 47 FCS ADA honorees to receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship.

"I am beyond humbled and grateful for being named a recipient of the FCS ADA Postgraduate Scholarship,” Burks said in a release. “My future plans are to obtain my masters of business administration to further my career in the future. I am extremely excited for the near future, and this scholarship enables me to accomplish another dream of mine."

The FCS leader with 29 rushing touchdowns, Burks engineered an offense that ranked second in rushing yards per game (352) and fourth in scoring offense (43.5 points per game). His 29 touchdowns on the ground were an FCS single-season record by a quarterback.

Burks will be formally recognized in June during the athletic director association's annual Convention in Orlando, Florida.

This article originally ran on mdjonline.com.


Load comments